2020 Juno Awards: Shawn Mendes, Alessia Cara and Other Popular Winners

Shawn Mendes goes to the 2019 American Music Awards at Microsoft Theater on Nov. 24, 2019 in Los Angeles.

On the off chance that an entertainment pageant is held for all intents and purposes, with no crowd close by to cheer the champs and no acknowledgment talks, even fixed in from a far distance, do the honors despite everything tally? Definitely they do. Specialists shouldn’t be punished due to the weird occasions everyone live in. A record’s a record and Shawn Mendes set a really notable record at the 49th yearly Juno Awards, which was held for all intents and purposes Monday (June 29).

Mendes turned into the primary craftsman in Juno Awards history to win single of the year three years running. He won for the current year for “Señorita,” his arousing collab with Camila Cabello. He won the most recent two years with “There’s Nothing Holdin’ Me Back” (2018) and “In My Blood” (2019). Anne Murray, Glass Tiger and Alanis Morissette had each won the honor two years straight.

Mendes likewise turned out to be only the subsequent craftsman to win craftsman of the year two years running. The Weeknd won in 2015-16. This carries Mendes’ assortment of Junos to an even 10. The craftsman, who was conceived in Pickering, Ontario is only 21.

Alessia Cara, who was initially set to be the show’s host before the coronavirus-constrained abrogation, won three honors—collection of the year and pop collection of the year for her sophomore collection, The Pains of Growing, and musician of the year. She’s the principal lady to take collection of the year since Carly Rae Jepsen won in that classification seven years prior for Kiss. Cara is the primary lady to win musician of the year since Serena Ryder took the prize six years prior.

Cara had been the current year’s top chosen one, with six gestures.

The Junos were initially scheduled be held March 15 at the SaskTel Center in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan.

Avril Lavigne won the Fan Choice honor—the main honor decided on carefully by fans—for the third time. She had won it in 2005 and again a year ago. Just two different craftsmen have won at least multiple times since the class was presented in 2003. Justin Bieber leads with five honors. Michael Bublé has additionally won it multiple times. (Bieber was among the candidates in that class this year.)

Torey Lanez turned into the primary craftsman in Juno Awards history to win rap recording of the year (“Freaky”) and R&B/soul recording of the year (“Feel It Too,” a collab with Jessie Reyez and Tainy). Lanez had the year’s second most assignments (five).

Billie Eilish’s blockbuster debut collection When We All Fall Asleep Where Do We Go? won worldwide collection of the year. It likewise took that grant at the Brit Awards in the U.K. on Feb. 18. It won the Grammy for collection of the year on Jan. 26.

Bryan Adams took grown-up contemporary collection of the year for Shine a Light. It’s his seventeenth Juno, which places him in third spot among all craftsmen in Juno history, behind just Céline Dion and Murray. The collection was likewise designated for collection of the year, yet lost to Cara. Adams collaborated with Ed Sheeran to co-compose the title track for Shine a Light.

Lennon Stella took the honor for advancement craftsman of the year. Neon Dreams won advancement gathering of the year. (Neon Dreams had won the Allan Slaight JUNO Master Class grant in 2017. They are the principal demonstration to move on from that grant to a serious Juno.)

Noisy Luxury took the honor for gathering of the year. A year ago, they won the honor for move recording of the year.

Cara, Neon Dreams, indigenous craftsman iskwē, and country outfit The Dead South (which won customary roots collection of the year) performed during the show.

The show opened with a message of help for the worldwide push for racial equity – and a somewhat surprising snapshot of self-analysis. They noticed that, however the Junos got in progress in 1970, it took 15 years before they included soul and reggae classifications. Additionally, they included, the principal rap grant wasn’t introduced until 1991 and the primary honor for indigenous music wasn’t introduced until 1994.

No notice was made of Jann Arden, who was casted a ballot into the Canadian Music Hall of Fame this year.

The In Memoriam move call included such noted Canadian ability as Leon Redbone and Neil Peart of Rush.

The following year’s Junos, the 50th, will be introduced in Toronto. The city hall leader of the impeded show in Saskatoon great naturedly passed the twirly doo—basically obviously—to the chairman of Toronto.