Lok Sabha Election Result 2019 LIVE Updates: Date and Time, How To Get Live Updates

The Election Commission of India (EC) will begin counting votes for the 17th Lok Sabha Election on May 23.

The final results are likely to be delayed this time by four to six hours in view of the introduction of extra Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) counting.

The Lok Sabha elections were held in seven stages over the 542 parliamentary constituencies from April 11 to May 19. Roughly 60 crore voters havecast ballots across 10 lakh booths in 29 states and seven union territories.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi-led Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and its National Democratic Alliance (NDA) partners are hoping to retain power at the Centre. This is amid efforts by several Opposition parties, including Rahul Gandhi-led Congress, to put up a united fight. ‘Others’ or the ‘third front’ is also trying to wrest power.

The general election witnessed a uber battle from key political players, for example, PM Modi, Rahul Gandhi, BJP boss Amit Shah, Akhilesh Yadav and Mayawati of the Mahagathbandhan and a few other senior BJP and Opposition leaders.

When does the counting of votes start on May 23?

Counting occurs in the presence of the Returning Officer (RO) of the constituency and candidates and their agents. It is expected to begin at 8.00 am.

The RO declares the result when he or she is certain that counting has been successfully completed.

Also, the EC appoints its eyewitnesses to supervise the procedure and guarantee that it occurs in a transparent manner.

Every candidate can appoint up to 16 counting agents from his/her party for each place of counting. The counting agent takes care of the interests of the party.

Where can I watch live counting of votes on May 23?

The latest updates from across all 542 constituencies. Readers can follow Election Commission Of India’s official website https://www.eci.gov.in/

When will be the results be announced?

The results are likely to be declared on May 23.

How many constituencies are there in India?

There are a total of 543 constituencies in India that are represented by 543 members of Parliament (MPs) in the Lok Sabha.

These members are elected directly by the citizens of India. The 29 states send 530 MPs to the Lok Sabha, while the seven Union Territories send 13 MPs.

However, it is important to note that there are a total of 545 members in the Lok Sabha, out of which 543 are elected and two are nominated by the President of India.